Motherhood in the Trenches Verses Minibook

IMG_0743wm

Yes, the title is a phrase taken from one of my favorite motherhood books, Loving the Little Years. I’ve latched onto that phrase because it feels so accurate!

I put together this collection of my {current} favorite verses to help me in my mothering. And by favorite, I don’t necessarily mean “ones that make me feel all warm and cozy.” I mean — ones that pack a punch! Ones that convict & challenge & encourage me to lean on God’s grace because I really can’t “do” or “be” these verses on my own.

motherhood2

Here are some of the ones in the book:

Philippians 4:5 – Let your gentleness be evident to all.

2 Corinthians 12:15 – So I will gladly spend for you  everything I have {my time, attention, desires, sleep, energy} & expend {to be used up} myself as well.

motherhoodverses

Proverbs 10:21 – The lips of the righteous nourish many.

Proverbs 11:24 – One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty.

Proverbs 11:25 – A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed.

Proverbs 12:18 – Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.

Pretty simple! I just cut up Crate Paper’s Portrait accent cuts, punched holes, added rings, and wrote out my verses. I keep it in Cate’s room, by the nursing chair, so I can read through it while I’m nursing her.

What have been verses that have been the most helpful/impactful/convicting as you try to parent your children?

3 responses to “Motherhood in the Trenches Verses Minibook

  1. Pingback: Good Friday Watercolors | These Small Hours

  2. Pingback: In Progress… | These Small Hours

  3. Pingback: A Longing for God Minibook | These Small Hours

Leave a Reply

