Cate’s Wall

Cate’s room was first Noelle’s room, and once we moved Noelle in with Anna before Cate was born, I did nothing to personalize it for the arrival of the littlest sister. It’s funny when inspiration strikes. In this case, it was right after  Cate’s first birthday. Here is the beginnings of a little gallery wall in her room. It’s not perfect yet, but it’s a start, and I really enjoy it!

IMG_5538-wm

IMG_5539-wm

In my opinion, the star of the show is this painting…

IMG_5547-wm

This beautiful painting is a reproduction of Degas’ Dancer in Front of a Window. This painting is not only beautiful, it is so special to me because my dad painted it for Cate for her first birthday. What a treasure! {He also painted something for Anna and for Noelle, but I’ll show those once I spruce up their room!}

IMG_5550-wm

I love it, Dad. Just beautiful.

cate'sroomcollage-wm

Heeh! Those are some of my favorite pictures of dear Noellie. I need to switch ’em out!

The framed text was given to me at a shower for Noelle. It is a lovely, lovely quote by Elizabeth Prentiss (one of my favorite authors, whom Cate’s middle name is taken from!). I’ll share the full quote from Stepping Heavenward, since the context is what makes the quote all the more striking. It reads:

“She says I shall now have one mouth the more to fill and two feet the more to shoe, more disturbed nights, more laborious days, and less leisure or visiting, reading, music, and drawing.

Well! This is one side of the story, to be sure, but I look at the other. Here is a sweet, fragrant mouth to kiss; here are two more feet to make music with their pattering about my nursery. Here is a soul to train for God; and the body in which it dwells is worth all it will cost, since it is the abode of a kingly tenant. I may see less of friends, but I have gained one dearer than them all, to whom, while I minister in Christ’s name, I make a willing sacrifice of what little leisure for my own recreation my other darlings had left me. Yes, my precious baby, you are welcome to your mother’s heart, welcome to her time, her strength, her health, her tenderest cares, to her lifelong prayers! Oh, how rich I am, how truly, how wondrously blest!”

Here is the Nursing Chair, which has been my second home this past year, ha! We need to move it back down to the living room soon!

IMG_5570-wm

And then I like this corner above the changing table… three black & white portraits of all three girls, between 4-6 months.

IMG_5577-wm

 

Leave a Reply

